Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There have endless discussions over which factors take into account students’ studying. Some people argue that understanding concepts is more important than learning the facts. Personally, I disapprove of this argument since two factors are equally important.

At the first analysis, knowledge foundation is what cannot be left out when considering the importance of concepts and ideas that students learn at school. In cannot be denied that without theories, students are likely to misunderstand what they face in real life. For example,When I was a child, I thought the earth is circle and humans live inside the earth. Only when I learned geography and physics, I realized I was definitely wrong. Thus, grasping ideas and knowledge lays the first foundation for us to understand the facts. More importantly, ideas and concepts lead to more methods to solve problems. For example, thanks to mathematic theories learned at university, it is possible for students to apply this to optimize business plan. Indeed, it makes sense that learning ideas and concepts guidance students to understand the fact and reach further goals in reality.

At the second analysis, learning the facts offers students future success and skill development. It is apparent that facts are better related with the real world. There is always a gap between theory and reality that requires us to attain more facts to reduce it. From my own experience, theory we learned at school is quite simple and conventional while what happen in life is more complicated and unpredictable. Only with learning the facts can students be practical minded which plays an important role in personal success. More interestingly, more the facts you learn, the better living skill you have. For instance, learning about what life in cities such as how to rent a house or cook a meal is necessary for students who leave their home to big cities to enter university. In other words, Learning the facts equips us for ability to survive. By and large, the role of learning the facts to students is indispensable.

At the last analysis, for students, grasping concepts or learning the facts are equal of importance. Each factor shows its merits. Only if a person has basis knowledge through remembering ideas and concepts and is able to understand the facts, it can be competent. Ideas/ concepts and the facts make up for lacks of other. Combining two factors is perfect choice, which results in a knowledgeable and practical person. Understanding theory and aware of reality are essential contributed to success. Without one of these factors, learners are only geeks or dreamers. Beyond any doubts, there is no reason to appreciate on factor higher than other.

In conclusion, all above mentioned are convincing reasons for my disapproval. It is highly recommended that students should take my writing into detailed consideration to have an appropriate decision on choosing what factors as priority.