Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily Use specific reasons and ex

Friendship is one of the crucial aspects of every person's life, and having good friends makes life much happier and more fun. While some believe that it is critical for people to make new friends easily, others believe otherwise. As far as I am concerned, I totally believe that it is far more important to keep friendships for a long time with some close friends, rather than making new friends. The reasons why I believe so will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, long-time friends have a better understanding of each other and have a great time together. I mean, since they know each other for a while, they perfectly know one another. They are aware of each other's feelings and get along much better. On the other hand, new friends know a little about each other, and they might hurt each other's fealing and even annoy one another. My own experience illustrates this reality. A few years ago, I decided to go on a vacation with some of my old friends. We know each other for fifteen years, and try to avoid upsetting each other. On that trip, we went to the beach for a couple of days. We knew one of our friends did not have a good financial situation, so we tried to spend as little money as we can. We did not want to embarrass him. We just hung out in the beach house and talked and played card games together. It was so much fun that it is one of our best memories.

Second, people can rely on their old friends in difficult situations. When people know each other for a long time, great connection bonds between them. They care so much about each other and try to help each other in the time of need. In contrast, new friends do not care about each other so much. For instance, a few years ago, I had a big problem. I wrote a bad check, and I did not have any money. The guy who had my check wanted to put me in jail. I had no idea what to do. I talked with my best friend about it; we were friends for 20 years. He got upset that why I did not tell him in the first place. Fortunately, he lent me the money, and I passed that check. If I had not such a friend, no one else would give me the money, and I would end up in prison.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, I strongly believe that maintaining friendships with a small group of people is more important than making new friends every day. We have a much better time with them and can rely on them in bad circumstances.