Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

Nobody can live well without friends, who provide us with entertainment and support. Some people have the ability to keep in touch with a small part of friends for a long time while others are good at making new friends easily. With the introverted characteristic, I strongly agree with that the latter ability is more essential for happiness.

First and foremost, making many new friends easily results a quick accustom to new environments. People should face all kinds of new environments independently as they grow up gradually, such as high school, college and companies. Strong network ability means acquiring help and absorbing new information easily, subsequently causing the absence of lonely mood. Specifically, new graduates going to work are easy to be lonely, since they leave their familiar atmosphere and friends even kindred, transfer to an unfamiliar stage of life, and face with difficult social hardship. Outer personality helps new graduates making many new friends, who provide plenty of work and life experience, like how to communicate with our boss and which places of houses have low rents. Therefore, new grads will get through hardship more easily with new friends’ help.

Second, having new friendship easily broadens people’s social network and benefits their career path. That is to say, becoming friends with others easily helps people learning extensive knowledge from all kinds of fields, broadening one’s horizon, thus pointing out a clear choice of career. For example, students in the forth year are normally going into society with an opaque plan to the future. Those who have advantages of social participate in many internships and career activities in order to add many relevant workers’ social accounts. Therefore, from chatting with them directly about the salaries and development of particular industry, students consider clearly about their own willing and plan excellent career path for the future.

Finally, people’s physical and mental health are also tightly associated with making new friends easily. Because having brave to communicate with strange people represents confidence, which helps people stay away from self-locked. Take my college classmate as an example, she was so introverted that dared to talk to strangers, always staying at her comfort zone. As time passes, she became accustomed to invariant life and had no friends in our university, feeling lonely and self-abased, which influenced her health severely.

Admittedly, although keeping in touch with a small group of people is precious to some extent, different life experiences make it harder to maintain long-term friendships. In the end, people are bound to become distant with each other. Therefore, the ability of making new friends easily is more important to one’s happiness as far as adaptation to new environments easily, a wide social network and a healthy life are concerned.