Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Advice from older friends is more valuable than that from friends at the same age.

Friendship is universally acknowledged as the most valuable treasure one may possess in whole life. Warm-hearted friends always offer us their precious advice when we are in need, no matte they are older than us or at the same age. A general controversy arises when advices from that two kinds of friends are presented together. Some attaches greater importance to advice from older friends than that from ones at the same age, while others lay emphasis upon peers’ advice. There is no universal agreement on which one is superior to another, but rather that both of them are indispensable to our lives.

On the one hand, advice from older friends should be treated seriously. Among countless factors which directly or indirectly influence the value of an advice, the richness of adviser’s knowledge and experience is conspicuous. How can you expect a person who even don’t know how to cope with the problem you are facing herself/himself to provide helpful tips? Impossible! Apparently, an experienced person is more likely to offer useful suggestions than a novice. The friends older than you are just this kind of experienced people you are looking for. As a proverb says, the death of an elderly man is like a burning library. This comparison vividly demonstrates that the older a person is, generally more knowledge deposit she/he has. From this aspect, the older friends are worthy of asking help for.

One the other hand, the value of advice from friends at the same age should also be mentioned. I suppose that most of our friends are at the same with us, so their advice takes a prominent position in our lives. At least, this is true for me. As a result, there is a hidden possibility that I have no advice to follow in some situations, if not listen to their advice. In the case that they are your only hope, you should already know how precious their advices are. On the top of this, the friends at the same are the friends knowing you most. They and you have grown up in a similar environment and experienced similar life, which lay a foundation for the universal consensus between them and you. So it is more easy for you to accept their advice and opinion. And they are more familiar with the problems you encounter and able to understand your situation more easily.

Judging from the arguments mentioned above, I would tend to reiterate my standpoint that there should be no prejudice against either advice from older friends or that from friends at the same age. In my mindset, they are equally valuable in my life and I will adopt any useful advice regardless of the age of advisers.