Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, there are so many courses for students in university to select. But from my perspective, I am afraid I have to disagree with the opinion that everyone should choose history courses no matter what their field of study is. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illuminate in the following essay.

To begin with, I have to admit that history plays a vital role in the long history of human society, which is the foundation of almost every subject in the humanities field. So I think students could not ignore the importance of history for their background knowledge. Unfortunately, I don't think the same conclusion could work for students majoring in the natural field like math or computer science.

Secondly, history will not help engineering graduates find a job at all. It is evident that remembering the details of a war that happened in ancient Rome would not make you stand out from the employees if you are preparing for a software developer position. It is the language courses that constitute your academic performance and advantage over other competitors. For instance, I am a computer science student; my future career will be in the IT industry, which requires highly excellent programming skills. But my college once requested us to take politics courses, which was compulsive and took a lot of my time to write course papers. The worst part of the courses was that I finally realized that it was nothing to do with my professional promotion. Today I am still confused about the meaning of those courses. My experience could demonstrate that history courses are unnecessary for natural science graduates.

At last, these courses might increase students' pressure since the history courses would not help students, other than those who are in history concentrations, improve their academic performance. My experience is a compelling example of it. As a student of computer science, I had to pass a wide range of courses, including mathematics and programming languages. These exhausting and time-consuming courses were like two hills on my shoulders, which made me nearly out of breath. I used to spend all days coding for a project in the labs with my classmates. However, as the former passage says, we all need to waste our precious time in politics class. We had to attend class and review materials for final exams and course papers, which were pretty hard for future engineers and put us under tremendous pressure. If I could refuse those courses, I would have devoted all my attention and limited time to practice my coding skills.

In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that students should select history courses regardless of their own field. This is because the history courses will bring unnecessary pressure; and will not increase the chance of getting a job for engineering graduates.