Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Providing Internet access is just as important as other services such as building roads so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost Use specific reasons and examples

Nowadays, with the proliferation of the Internet, people are increasingly dependent on it. Although it is a necessity of modern society, from my own perspective, I'm afraid I have to disagree with the statement that the government should provide the Internet for free. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will illuminate in the following essay.

To begin with, free Internet might reduce the enjoyment brought by the present charging system because the paid system could allocate Internet resources efficiently to satisfy diverse needs. On the other hand, I believe the most likely consequence of offering Internet access at no cost is everyone would share the same speed. Since every family has a specific Internet requirement, the indiscriminating speed would either cause a huge waste or fail to provide satisfactory service. For instance, I am a student who has to spend 10 hours a day attending classes or finishing my homework on paper. It is clear that I barely have time to surf the Internet. But my brother is an employee in a website company. His job requires him to upload videoes to pages or remote control others' computers, which request the Internet with high quality. Can you imagine what would happen if we shared the same Internet? He would complain a lot about the terrible connection; by contrast, I might not realize I have wasted so many Internet resources. As a result, I think it is proper to allow different consumers to make their own choices instead of sharing the same service for free.

Secondly, the government taking over the Internet might cause extra tax, which is more than the Internet fee you are paying now. Firstly, the maintenance fee is far more than generally expected since core devices in the central Internet are pretty complicated and need frequent checks. Moreover, unlike road or electricity transmission systems, Internet technology is undergoing an incredible evolution that costs millions of dollars per year. The Internet today is highly different from the Internet ten years ago. Consequently, this update will cause a considerable amount of investment. Undoubtedly, citizens are the direct source of the extra money. However, today's IT industry is a profitable field, which makes it possible for IT companies to take the responsibility to invest in research concerning Internet technology and upgrade or maintain Internet devices. Only in this way can the public enjoy the Internet with high quality and, more importantly, low price.

In conclusion, I think the present Internet charging system is a perfect solution for most citizens. This is because the current system ensures the enjoyment of the Internet for everybody at a relatively low price.