Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History can be the mirror of human society, which records the thing that happened. Some people assert that for any university student, it is necessary to take history courses whatever s/he learns. In my personal opinion, I totally disagree with this idea, especially when the following two arguments are taken into consideration.

To begin with, students are too busy to study extra classes, no matter to say that the extra class is not related to their major field. Students are busy dealing with their own schoolwork, such as preparing for a presentation, doing their homework, collecting data, finishing their papers, and other stuff. Take me for example, when I was a freshman, I have to wake up at 7 o'clock in the morning and take my major classes from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. In addition, I need to do a lot of things during the afternoon. The evening is not my leisure time, either. Therefore, it is quite not possible for students to make other time to attend some classes which are totally different from their major.

Secondly, from the university's standpoint, it can reduce expenditure. If it is not optional for universities to offer history courses to students, the cost will increase because of the cost of teaching facilities and hiring more instructors. The cost can be saved and utilized for other more important things, such as renewing the library and classrooms. According to a recent study published by Harvard University Press, 50% of the expenditure of a university has been the cost of hiring professors. Only 20% is utilized for the construction of university buildings, which is more important for students. More money can be saved by cutting off some useless lessons, such as history courses, which are not useful for some students.

Admittedly, history courses are useful for people. As the saying goes, people can learn from history to make fewer mistakes. However, for students who are learning computer science, physics, math, or other subjects, it is better to let them focus on their own major.

In conclusion, with the above two advantages mentioned, I assert that not all students should be required to learn history lessons. Instead, they need more time to do their own job.