Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their fields of study.

As a student majoring in Computer Science, I was required to take basic science courses like Physics and Biology in the first two years of my undergraduate study. I and almost all of my classmates were confused about why these syllabuses were made compulsory for us since we might probably not make use of them in our future career. If I had a choice, I would oppose all the college students being required to take basic science courses no matter what their majors are.

In the first place, taking basic science courses can put additional academic pressure on students. No matter what majors the students pursue, they are obliged to fully understand a series of professional courses. Besides that, for certain essential theories or indispensable skills, students are expected to master them, namely, being competent to not only comprehend them but also put them into practice. Furthermore, quantities of projects and examinations are employed as methods to examine whether they understand and become proficient in the professional knowledge or not, which give rise to the fact that quite a large proportion of students under intense stress. Taking these situations into consideration, there is no doubt that students will have to tolerate more academic pressure if basic science courses are added into their curriculums in that they have more intensive classes to attend, more deadlines to meet and more tests to review for.

In addition, taking basic science courses might make it more difficult for students to equip themselves with other skills, such as communication, team cooperation and leadership, well enough to meet the requirements demanded by companies after graduation. Given that a student has to attend multiple additional classes and accomplish numerous projects, time and energy for him to enhance other skills must be limited. On the contrary, for those who only need to concentrate on their own field of study, they can make use of the spare time to participate in various activities to improve those skills.

In conclusion, I oppose that the university students should take basic science courses if they do not major in that subject.