People spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do.Do you agree or disagree with the above statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

There are two kinds of things available for people to do, namely, the things people enjoy to do and the things people should do. When it comes to which one takes up most of the time a person has nowadays, people have different standpoints. Personally speaking, I feel that people don't spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things, that is, they spend most of their time on things they are obliged to do.

There is no denying that people today are entitled to do what they enjoy, like travelling, reading books and watching movies. For example, one of my friend had a nationwide trip during his final year at the university and he quite enjoyed it. However, is it possible for people to have do things they like no matter when they have the desire? As for me, the answer is absolutely negative for two reasons elaborated below.

In the first place, students are required to learn numerous knowledge and not encouraged to participate in other extracurricular activities, in which they can enjoy themselves. It is well acknowledged that no matter what stage a student is currently in, quantities of courses are made compulsory for them to master, leading to the fact that a large proportion of students are under stress and tension as well as have no time to do anything else, even including what they have passion to. Take my little sister, a middle school student as an example. In her curriculum, there are various syllabuses, like Physics, Biology, Geography and so on. To perform well, she has to spend a tremendous amount of time and energy to study them for the reason that none of these subjects are trivial for her. However, getting outstanding marks cannot make her happy and what she really keens is singing. Unfortunately, she has no time to practice singing on account of most time are occupied by school work.

In addition, employees also need to do things they do not like but should do. A job for a person is imperative because it allows the person has stable incomes to live. To avoid be fired, one need to strive to work no matter whether he or she likes it or not. For example, my uncle is a programmer working on a small Information Technology company. What he does every day is to code and to test the code whether it is correct or not, which is exceedingly boring for him. He cannot playing guitar, his favourite enjoyment, due to endless assignment.

In conclusion, students and workers cannot spend time on personal enjoyment-doing things.