Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their field of study.

While majoring in Computer Science, I was required to take basic science courses like Physics and Biology in the first three years of my undergraduate study. My classmates hold different viewpoints when it comes to whether these irrelevant syllabuses should be made compulsory for us. As for me, I oppose all the college students being required to take basic science courses regardless of their majors. My reasons are elaborated below.

In the first place, taking basic science courses can put additional academic pressure on students. No matter what majors the students pursue, they are obliged to fully comprehend a series of professional courses. Besides that, for certain essential theories or indispensable skills, students are expected to master them. Furthermore, numerous projects and examinations are employed to examine whether they understand and have become proficient in their field knowledge or not. Taking these situations into consideration, a large proportion of students have already been under intense stress, not mention how much pressure they will tolerate after basic science courses being added into their curriculums. Take my experience as an example. In my sophomore year, several non-trivial computer courses like Algorithms and Data Structure were required to take. The only way I can master them is programming a lot, like finishing the projects assigned by professors, which were quite time-consuming and exhausting. What’s worse, Physics was also demanded. Faced with another unfamiliar subject, I found myself under more stress because I had more classes to attend and more tests to review for. To get good performance in all these subjects. I endeavored to code for courses in Computer Science and do the exercises for Physics at the expense of time and quality of my sleep. If I had a choice, I would not choose to have the basic science class, since those core courses were challenging enough for me to study.

In addition, taking basic science courses might make it more difficult for students to equip themselves with other skills, such as communication, team cooperation and leadership. Given that a student has to attend multiple additional classes and accomplish extra numerous projects, time and energy for him to enhance other skills must be limited. On the contrary, for those only needing to concentrate on their own fields of study, they can make use of the spare time to participate in various activities to improve those skills. The contrast between my friend Linda, majoring in Accounting and me can illustrate this point. She was not required to take basic science courses as I was. As a result, she had more time to participate in students union and clubs. In the public speaking club, she practised and got used to deliver speeches to the public, while I was still afraid of even speaking in front of people. I really hope I could have more time to cultivate my presentation skills instead of focusing on study all the time, so that I might be more confident in myself when communicating with others.

Admittedly, taking basic science does have its merits. Learning these knowledge allows us to stand on shoulders of giants like Newton and Einstein. We can be more familiar with the advancement and evolution of human society as well as gain a deep understanding of the world we live in. Also, we can broaden our range of knowledge and enhance our analytic skills. However, this knowledge could be acquired by other fashions except for required courses, like through TV documentaries or Massive Open Online Courses platforms like Coursera. It is more advisable for undergraduates to decide whether to take them in accordance with their own needs and preferences.

In conclusion, although there are some small benefits to requiring basic science courses, making every college student attend such classes would overburden the students academically and prevent them enhancing other skills.