People spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do.

Do you agree or disagree with the above statement? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

The author believes that people today squander more time on personal enjoyment, i,e doing things they like to do and don't concentrate on what they should. I disagree with the author claim for multiple reasons: most people have busy week and there is less time for personal enjoyment, some people set goals and understand what they should do and strive towards it, report on stress levels among people are increasing.

Firstly, many people work on weekdays for survival and daily bread. 2/7th of the week is the only average available time that a person can spend for himself where he can plan for doing things he like. Rest of the time, one spends on office or studying, which can be classified according to me as things they should do for survival. Although, proponents may argue that these people may not love what they are doing but I believe that number of people in the category is minimal. For example, most of people in my company love to work on the what they want. To support this argument, the retention rate in the company is very high, close to 100% ! .

Secondly, those people who set high goals work towards it without bothering about personal enjoyment. For example, recently, I set a goal on myself to become fit. I worked hard, every evening, in gym for fitness. Although, it was tiring, demanding and I personally did not like it, I did not stop. I continued to purse because I saw my end goal and I knew what and why I should pursue. Like me, there are several others who set goals and are ready to sacrifice their personal enjoyment to achieve it. For example, entrepreneur who work hard to start a company or a researcher who works day and night for his thesis know what they want to do and do not spend time on personal enjoyment.

Thirdly, statistically speaking, report on number of people complaining about stress have increased. If people spend more time on personal enjoyment, i.e doing things they like to do, there should have been no increase in number of people complaining on stress. In fact, since people enjoy the most, number should have decreased. This clearly casts doubt on author's claim.

Although proponents of the claim may mention that accessibility for personal enjoyment has become easy like clubs or parties but i believe that not all can afford it. In fact only few people are capable of affording going to clubs or parties.

To conclude, for the reasons mentioned in the paragraph two, three and four, I personally disagree with the claim. Further, I believe only few people who are directionless are currently squandering their time and not all.