Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words.

Do not use memorized examples.

There is no shortage of opinion on the important considerations in a relationship. Many people have different beliefs on what could be considered of greatest importance in any relationship. In today’s world, being loyal is not just a virtue, but at times, a rarity among people. In my opinion, I believe that honesty in the most important requirement in a relationship for two main reasons, which I’ll address in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, honesty enables trust and belief on you by the other person. You don’t easily earn trust by someone. But once, that trust on you is developed in them, they believe you even if the world goes against you. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been deeply influenced by my own personal experience. My relationship with my parents hasn’t always been sweet. During my childhood days, I have lied to my parents regarding my score cards and grades, just so that I can avoid criticism from them. I used to even think that they may stop loving me, if they came to know that I’ve got bad grades at school. Later, at one point, I understood that they’ll always love me no matter what. That affection is innate and it doesn’t depend on my grades or performances. I felt guilty about my previous wrongdoings and confessed the same to my parents. Only then, did I know that, they had already known that I had been lying to them. They didn’t want to know me to know that, since I would feel very bad about it. From then on, I’ve never lied to them, and they’re very well aware of it. As a result, they always trust me, and this had hardened our relationship. For this reason, honesty is a core component in a relationship.

Secondly, loyality strengthens the bond. Drawing from my own experience, I’m still in contact with my primary school friends. Loyality is the backbone of our friendship. Our honesty towards others has strengthened our bonding among us, and has brought our friendship this long. I would consider my friends as my most important people after my family. Due to this very reason, I believe that I have people to fall back on, in case of any adversary. It’s certainly clear to see that being truthful builds strong connections.

In conclusion, truth is the most important aspect in a relationship, due to its ability to build trust, and make relationships more stronger. I would suggest people to always be true in their relationship, since the other person would accept you as you are.