Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are several important factors that are considered in relationships. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely choose to tell the truth always to be the most important consideration for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

First, going by the popular saying, “The truth will always set you free”. Telling the truth has a way of liberating someone eventually in any situation. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. When I was working as a salesperson in a retail store, I once attended to a particular customer that insisted that he has paid me for an item he took, whereas, he hadn’t and was insisting on it. It drew the attention of our manager and for him to calm the situation, he asked the customer to go with the item since he maintained that paid me. The money for the item was deducted from my wage for the day despite my plea that I did not receive any money from the customer. The very next day, the customer returned to our store pleading with me that he later saw the money in his pocket. He returned the money and gave me a huge sum of money. My manager felt embarrassed and at the same time pleased with me. As a result, I was appraised and promoted for that month. If I had not stood by the truth that the customer had not paid me for the item, I would not have been promoted nor appraised.

Secondly, Telling the truth makes you valued. People tend to respect and admire you when you are known for saying the truth. Drawing from my own experience, I come from a family of four siblings and I am the last child. Each of my siblings has their strengths and capabilities, but I was known to always tell the truth irrespective of the situation. This made my parents love me in a special way. If I was not known for telling the truth always, I probably would not have a special place in my parent’s hearts.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that telling the truth always is the most important consideration in relationships.