The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in

the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that Dr. Karp's interview-based research in understanding child-rearing traditions in Tertia is more accurate than Dr. Field's observation-based study, the argument does not make a cogent case to completely refute Dr. Field's conclusion. The argument is rife with holes and assumptions and therefore not strong enough to draw such a conclusion.

Firstly, Dr. Field carried out his research 20 years ago and 20 years is a long time for a change in the culture of kid raising in Tertia. Before completely refuting the observation-based research, it will be necessary to know what the trend of raising a child in Tertia has been before now. Until it is established that there was never a time that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their biological parents, Dr. Karp's argument will be valid.

Secondly, it is necessary to know the kind of questions being asked. The interviewer could have asked the respondents leading questions to achieve their aim. As such, evidence of the type of questions being asked is required. if the questions asked are general and not leading questions, then this can help support Dr. Karp's argument, otherwise, the argument is weakened.

Thirdly it was assumed that reports given at interviews are taken at face value. It could be that the children were scared to reveal their true thoughts and chose rather talk about their biological parents. further evidence is needed to show what condition the children are in at the time of the interview to ascertain if their responses to the questions will be taken at face value or not.

Finally, it was stated that interviews were conducted in groups of islands that included Tersia, but it was not stated what percentage of the population interviewed was from Tersia before drawing such a conclusion. It could be that the population interviewed at Tersia is very small compared to the population interviewed on the other islands. Until it is proved otherwise, this conclusion is weakened.

In conclusion, as can be seen in the previous paragraphs, several pieces of evidence is still needed to be proven by Dr. Karp before concluding that his interview-based research is more accurate than that of Dr. Field's observation-based study and this is proven, his argument is weakened.