Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

Trust is the pillar of any meaningful relation and it is based on being honest with each other .Thus I believe that for any relationship , telling the truth is the most important consideration as it builds trust.

Lets consider the case of a mother and child or grandmother and her grand child. It is one of the most beautiful and trusted relationship s'.My brother is the apple of my grand mothers eye. I belong to India , a country where male child is always more cherished than girls.It is quite understandable that my grandmother adores my brother and is generally lax with him . In our school days , my grandmother would always protect him when my parents scolded him for not completing assignments on time . She was his shield.She continuosly lied to my parents that he was working hard after coming home . Even if he was sad and contemplative , she would console him saying , he was her prince and was working quite hard, even though he barely studied. During the final exams , he preformed badly and barely got a passing grade . Finally the truth was revealed . This time both my parents and my brother did not comfort her. She lost their trust. She never meant any harm for anyone , it was just love , but as we see such lies cost her the trust of family members . The ones that truly loved her did not consult her anymore. Thus lying in any relationship can make it sour it is equivalent to breach of trust. Had she told the truth to my parents early on or to my brother that he needs to get out of his comfort zone and push harder ,we would respect her a lot more.

Similarly , even beyond family , in our profession ,say doctor and patient it is very important to tell the truth. A doctor cannot cure of the patient is misleading about his ailments . Similarly a doctor should come clear about the treatment ambiguities instead of giving false hopes to family members. But in some cases if the placebo effect seems to be working , doctors can keep it to themselves. Or in the case of terminally ill patients they may hide the truth until second opinion is received . Thus if the cases are exceptional we can hide the truth , otherwise we should always say the truth.

If a company uses substandard product they should clearly mention it on the packaging instead of lying to its users .Professional organisations can lose reputations built over years of hard work. The customers could lose faith and stop buying products from the company if they come to know about the truth being hidden from them . Thus customer and company relationship can also be jeopardized due to lying .

Hiding the truth can lead to trust issues and ultimately deteriorate the relationship. It is like a domino that leads to the downfall of all other important feelings in a relationship .It is thus the most important to respect the tenets of the profession and strive to be always truthful as much as possible .