An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The primary responsibility of the government is to ensure the well being of its citizens. The current issue faced by the impoverished country of Tagus is a nutrient deficiency namely Vitamin A , in its population . International organisations always pitch in to help with humanitarian work . Thus an NGO has developed modified seeds that produce millet which contain high amount of Vitamin A . It remains questionable if only promoting this new millet will help Tagus combat the nutrient deficiency issue among its people

Firstly , such a deficiency is a pressing matter for any state . Growing new millet grains is a long term solution. As mentioned by the author , first we need to convince the framer and then convince the citizens to switch to the new grain . Even if all this is achieved ,it will take a long time for results to show. Thus the government should also look for some other alternative solutions for this exigency.

Also it is not mention to what extent is the population affected with such a deficiency. If it is an issue faced by a small fraction of the the population or a notable size of the population is affected by this ? . If its in a particular area for a smaller population , the problem can be solved with the balanced diet approach.Deficiency of any kind is a result of poor diet . Government should promote healthy and balanced diet awareness campaigns. Vegetables like carrot are a good source of Vitamin A. Survey could be conducted to evaluate the cultivation and consumption of Vitamin A rich vegetables in the region and accordingly those foods could be promoted or exported if needed.

Secondly , being an impoverished state the costly seeds may be difficult to acquire and cultivate by the farmers. Government needs to ensure that the farmers are aware of the methods and techniques of cultivation of the new grains . The subsidy promised should also effectively reach the poor farmers. Corruption and other factors and can lead to ineffective implementation of the scheme . The worst hit in this case will be the farmer who may be burdened by debt. Thus leading to failure of scheme and reverting to normal crops .

Thirdly , the people also have to be convinced to the use the new grains in their regular diet. There may be apprehensions regarding mass consumption of the modified new grains. It may vary in taste and not appeal to many. The cooking time of this new grain may also be longer , using up more fuel. The people will be under more financial stress from the purchase of this grain . The aforementioned reasons can deter the public from using the modified grains

The consumption of the grain should have a positive effect on the health of the citizens . It should supply the essential nutrient in adequate quantity.Before launching a massive campaign to promote the new grains , a scientific study can be conducted to verify this conclusion . Government should use resources and money collected from its people as taxes responsibly .Since monetary resources are scarce maximum benefit should be the motto here.

The government should think of all the people in the society before launching such ambitious schemes. Effective implementation and massive awareness programs need to supplement the production and distribution of the new grains .Besides this also we have the open questions regarding the scientific viability of the entire program. We should keep in mind the actual agenda "to combat Vitamin A deficiency " as the primary goal .