To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Cities , especially large ones , are generally a melting pot of cultures.They are uniquely represent the

major characteristics of society.To elucidate further we must note two things very clearly .

what is a society

what are the major characteristics of a society.

A society is generally the group or collection of people living in a community.

Thus cities represent a society. the characteristics would be quality of life of the people living together.

It includes their culture , interaction with each other ,the rule of justice and system of judiciary.

Humans when living in a society need a social order to be maintained.

and cities can be a reflection of that .

the major festivals celebrated in the city show the cultural diversity of the society.

The participation of several groups of people and celebrating festivals of other communities bring

people closer giving them a sense of inclusiveness. This is very evident in a diverse country like India.

Durga Puja is a major Hindu festival in the city of kolkata in India. It is celebrated by all people of the

city alike . The people from other religions join to help and accommodate the revelers and join in on the

3 day activities. Ofcourse some exceptions are present but it binds the citizens together.

Thus festivals demonstrate the inclusive nature of societies.

next lets take the situation of law and order in the city.Citizens can venture out safely at night and not worry about

theft when going on vacations. These are common in plces where the law and order is well maintained and enforcement agencies

have worked well to keep the city safe.The crime rate of the city would low and people in general feel safe .This shows

the healthy and safe society

There are also events like processions and candle light marches which are carriedout in major cities.

They demonstrate awareness and will of the citizens to participate and wake the incumbent government bodies

to take heed of issues.Awareness and active citizens also mark a cherecteristic of a participative society .

Cities are also center of learning and education. Home to universities. The infrastructure and facilties available

to increase knowledge also reflects progressive society

Cities originated in yester years as trade centers along the bank of major rivers to facilitate easier transport.

Cities can also foster manufacturing and trading hubs. thus giving livelihood and trade oppurtunities to residents

healthcare facilities in the city and the past records from hospitals can help us track social health prameters.

Cities can be sen as a reflection of a society. A largely populated city id a fusion of people from different walks of

life and engaged in diverse livelihoods. The health , law and order , festivals , festivals , judiciary , ecomomy

all these can give a fair idea of the characteristics of the society.