he following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author has stated two observations, made after butter was replaced with margarine at a restaurant chain.Based on the observations , he concludes that either the customers do not distinguish between butter and margarine or they use the term butter to refer to either of the food items . Though this is a plausible conclusion , there can another possible explanation. It could be possible that most people prefer margarine over butter.

Lets consider the first statistic , only 2 % people complained when butter was replaced with margarine. It is thus concluded that 98 out of 100 people were happy with the change.The issue with this argument is that we don't know whether the complaints came from people purchasing margarine made products or includes all the customers. We need proper metrics clearly indicating the number of margarine product consumers and number of complaints made by them .

Secondly , when served margarine instead of butter , the customers did not complain. This behaviour can also indicate that people prefer margarine over butter. Assume you are on a flight and luckily get an upgrade. Most people take the upgrade and enjoy the flight. Similar situation may have happened at the restaurant. People got something which they felt was better than the product originally requested. Better could be in various ways like food taste , good combination with the ordered dishes , personal preference, nutritional value etc. Since they had asked for butter specifically and were not disappointed at receiving margarine , it clearly indicates the general preference for margarine.

The first observation cannot be credited unless more information is gathered. From the second one we can also deduce that maybe the people in general prefer margarine over butter .