Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Slow and steady wins the race -- is a famous aphorism . Leaders in different spheres should be aware of the

veracity of the above saying . The topic discusses accomplishment of a leader who easily and quickly is influenced

by public opinion. It is true that a leader who is fickle minded and gives in to popular opinion will

accomplish little.

Leaders in any sphere need to be a visionary. They can predict the future needs and lead to a direction

which will result in overall growth and development of the society , team or organisation.Thus a leader

that cannot judge a situation on his own capacity and is swayed easily by popular opinion may be misled.

This is assuming the fact that popular opinion is not always correct. It is generally based on feelings rather

than facts . Popular opinion can be a feeling held by a large number of members of the public , which may not be

qualified to represent the issue at hand . It also does not represent minority interests.

Hence leaders should not be biased and base their decisions on scientific facts and proper evaluated

analysis than mere sentiment. Accomplishment for a leader should not be equated to pleasing the masses.

It refers to bringing about development and positive growth for the betterment of masses in general .

Lets take the example of a CEO. He is supposed to the lead the company in the development of a new product

category. Going by popular opinion if the CEO chooses to launch a product without proper market survey , it will

be more harmful for the company and its revenue . We can take the example of Apple . a leading smart phone

maker which decide to launch it own MAPS app to replace the one made by Google. Without proper testing

it was launched with Apple iphones , based on the popular opinion that all Apple products should be used with its

devices and they are premium. The result backfired when the Apple Maps were not as accurate as the third party

Google maps . Finally had to re-call and reinstate Google maps for the benefit of the users.

Similarly we can take the example of Chief Minister of Delhi , in India, Mr. Arvind Kejriwal.

He was a renowned social worker , known for his anti corruption activities and a winner of the prestigious

Ramon Magsaysay Award. He was elected to be the CM over the clout of other regional parties .

A first time CM , Mr Kejriwal had the opportunity to improve the condition of the city and establish

a corruption free bureaucracy . He on the other hand conducted a poll that if he would not be able to

deliver setting up a council , he would resign . And in 6 months he resigned based on popular vote .

Thus Mr. Kejriwal became a prime target for lampooning . Instead of working for the people and delivering

after 5 years as elected government , he chose to give in to popular opinion.

Similarly , if leaders in military give in to the popular opinion and start firing at the border of hostile nation

It might become difficult to reach an amicable solution. It is easy to sway by populistic ideas and gain

popularity but it seals the future fate of the country and can sometimes lead to devastating consequences like war .

In conclusion we can note that though implementation of populistic views can gain popularity for the leader,

in the long term it will lead to little useful accomplishment . Thus for a leader to be assertive, he should

be able to rise above the public opinion and take decisions that are beneficial in the long term .