Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the

potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

The diversity of flora and fauna is a unique feature of our home planet : the earth.All the different

species are linked in some way or the other through food chain and the other natural cycles, like the carbon cycle etc.

Over the years due to increasing population of humans , we have expanded urban cities and villages , thus

shrinking the habitat for the other species. The human technology expansion has had certain negative impact

on our environment that pushed us to the limit where certain species have become endangered and are facing extinction.

It is thus the responsibility to save those species that may become extinct due to our activities and we should not

impact other species whose numbers dwindle by natural causes so as not to disrupt the nature.

Primary reasons for endangered species is habitat loss. There can be multiple issues which lead to habitat loss for

for a species like pollution , land encroachment etc. Sometimes even introducing new predator for farming benefit

may also reduce the original population of the native species.Even hunting and poaching are possible reasons for decline in animal

population.Thus we should be responsible in our actions and not disrupt the

natural habitat.

The one horned rhino is a prime example of a species that is facing extinction due to human activities.

The horn of the rhino holds medicinal value is Asian countries and hence is hunted extensively .This has led to

a reduced number of this species. We should help preserve and put checks on hunting of the same.

On the other hand if the potential extinction of a species is not due to human activities then we should not

play with the nature's delicate balance. Some species may not have evolved to survive the new bacteria and

slowly be facing extinction. As we can see that environment keeps changing and is a dynamic habitat that

supports a myraid of species , if a species is not able to sustain , we should not make artificial efforts to preserve .

because every animal has a specifc place in the food chain. Simply artificially adding can disturb this balance

and may have a negative impact on the food chain adversely affecting other species.