The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that Quinot Manufacturing should reduce work shift duration by 1 hour. He argues that this will reduce the number of on-the-job accidents and thereby increase productivity. The assumptions made by the author to reach this argument is rife with holes . Hence they do not make for a cogent argument. Lets consider the assumptions and the impact on the argument if they turn out to be unwarranted.

The author compares Quinot Manufacturing to another nearby company Panoply Manufacturing , that uses shorter work hours. He states that they reported 30 % more accidents than Panoply Industries plant which uses 1 hour shorter work shifts.Reducing shift duration will reduce number of accidents is the assumption. Arbitrary comparison can only lead to misleading assumption and numbers. The author has not presented any internal review of the root cause of the accidents at Quinot Manufacturing. Panoply may be a new factory with more mechanization. The work type in both industries maybe different. The volume , type and intensity of work done , the number of employees on the job that were involved in the accidents need to be elucidated. Without the above information the authors assumption that only because of longer work hours there are more accidents does not stand ground .

Again in the author assumes that shorter work hours will lead to adequate amounts of sleep in employees. Thus they will not be fatigued and not prone to causing accidents. Employees may have a longer travelling time and other commitments. It cannot be directly assumed that they will necessarily get adequate sleep. If the employees use that time to complete other tasks , again it will not reduce fatigue and not help at all with reducing accidents.

It is true that sleep deprivation and fatigue are the major causes of accidents in workplaces as stated by experts. The manufacturing company could offer longer breaks in between so that employees can take a quick nap if they feel fatigued.They could also avail transportation for the employees to reduce their fatigue . There could install better and new machines that make jobs easier . There could be several options to improve productivity besides reducing work hours. The authors assumptions based on nearby plant cannot be accepted without proper internal review . Another assumption is also is not well qualified. Hence we can conclude that reducing the duration of shifts is not going to reduce accidents or improve productivity.