Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Businesses should do anything they can to make a profit. Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

When it comes to the issue the importance of making profits in the business, some people think that companies should do anything they can to make a profit. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I concerned, the last point carries more weight. I think that it would be better to look at some approaches for increasing profits and their consequences.

First at all, companies can hire inexperienced employees or second hand material for their producing. As we all know, profits depends on a two main factors, price and cost. In order to enhance profits, the companies always tend to decrease the cost of production. For achieve this, they may hire inexperienced employees, who needs less salary. In addition, they can use of second hand materials, which have less quality and expense, to produce their commodities. I admit these kinds of suggestion can help a company to gain profit, while in a long term; they will lose their customers, because of low quality. In addition, the scenario can be more horrible when the company produces wares, which relate people’s health.

A further point we must consider, the company can use of old technology, which are high- pollution, in the production line. In the modern countries, governments impose strict laws on industrial companies to use of new technologies, which are less pollution. These kinds of equipment usually are expensive, so it is possible that companies may tend to use of old machines, which are cheaper. Whereas, this approach will help them to decrease the cost of production and gain more profits, it will have many negative affects on the environment such as air pollution, ozone depletion, or even soil erosion. It never be logical to destroy the nature for making more money, because what the company gains is never compared with their

Apart from points I made above, the company can give false information to customer by using dishonest advertisement. For example, a company, who produces the toothpaste, can use of some movie actors for advertising. In an advertisement, the actors can speak about the positive effects of this production on people’s dental health, while none of them is near the trust. Although, this method for increasing the sales may in effective in a short time, sooner or later, they will lose their credits. Moreover, it can decrease people’s trust on the other advertisements and make difficult condition for other companies.

All above evidence supports this undeniable fact that companies should not do anything for increase their profits like hiring inexperience employees, using high-pollution equipment or false advertisements. All of these methods have numerous negative effects on people’s health, environment, or society. Last but not least I hope that companies gain the deeper insight that the aim of business is not just making money.