Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the busy and crowded world, we should not expect people to be polite to each other.

With the development of our society and the increase in population, our lives are increasingly busy and fast-paced. However, no matter where we live or what we do, it is never acceptable for a person to behave discourteously to others. This is because the basic code that helps maintain a healthy society is etiquette towards others. Some people believe that we should not expect the occupied people to be polite while others disagree. In my view, although nowadays people tend to be less sensitive to being courteous or respectful to one’s space, I firmly disagree with the statement since politeness plays an indispensable role in everyone’s social life. This essay will demonstrate two reasons for this assertion in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the world is becoming ever smaller, such that we cannot avoid communicating with others in our daily lives. So the only way we can get along with the surrounding people (including colleagues, classmates, teachers, bosses, even strangers), is to be polite to them. And they should be polite to us reciprocally. For example, I always endeavor to behave politely. When I am trying to get into the crowded bus after an exhausting working day, I politely say excuse me to the person standing next to me. If I want to get a copy of my classmate’s notebook, I say “would you” courteously. And above all, at my first meeting with someone that I have not known, I make small talk first instead of jumping right into a business or serious discussion. Discuss her/his day, kids, or talk about the movies or shows we were watching lately. This will help break the ice. These are common ways to show our politeness which is necessary for our daily communication.

Another equally significant point is that politeness plays an irreplaceable role in the development of individuals. We do politely not just for other people around us, but for ourselves as well. People’s behavior reflects one’s psychology and in the meantime, the mind itself is influenced by one’s behavior too. Indeed, everyone has experienced a lot of pressure in such a busy and crowded world and need a way to mitigate them. But being rude is never the choice. As a matter of fact, being rude may make things worse. First, you have to face an unwelcome world when you express your rude freely. The adverse effect would do nothing good for your mood. Second, rudeness can cause hurt we never wanted. The mood needs to be controlled and subjugated rather than licensed. The devil in our mind would not go just because we open the window; furthermore, the rude behavior might lead to irretrievable results we would regret for the rest of our lives. So it is safe to say that the basic code that helps maintain a healthy society and psyche is etiquette towards others.

To recapitulate, we should keep showing behavior that is respectful and considerate of other people. Not only does it help us to have beneficent and soothing interactive, but it also helps us promote our mental health. We should all emphasize politeness as a significant incontrovertible manner in our lives.