Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children nowadays have too much freedom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, children definitely have much more freedom then it was earlier. Modern generations tend to become more and more liberal, what particularly affects children`s education in families. However, it is not true that children have too much freedom now. I have two reasons why I think so.

First, if a child does not have sufficient freedom, it will badly affect him in several ways. Children who have prohibitions in families can go off the normal development track. They tend to become less self-confident and more depressed. For example, I had a friend whose parents stated a lot of restrictions. For example, he had to go home not earlier than 8 PM. This meant that whereas his friends were having fun with each other, he was compelled to spend time at home. As a result, he was becoming less and less socialized as time was coming, because teenagers usually walk and play in evenings, at least in Russia. Also, he wasn`t able to find a girlfriend as he literally couldn`t go to date with girls because of these strict prohibitions. As a result, he became a very depressed person, and his relationships with parents also became very bad.

Secondly, even when freedoms are very broad, it does not imply anything wrong if it assumes responsibilties. Of course, freedoms without responsibilities becomes anarchy. However, if parents educate their children with spirit of freedoms and responsibilties, it becomes very beneficial. For example, I have a friend who was allowed to do literally anything within reasonable bounds. A lot of parents give small money for children every day, but he was given relatively large amount of money but for month, and no additional money would have been given if he had spent it before the end of a month. He was sometimes allowed to have parties in their apartments, but after this he had to clean the apartments. In this way parents educated feeling of responsibility of him. As a result, he has become a very successfull person with a great career.

In conclusion, children have suitable level of freedom now. This is because lack of freedom may lead to bad development of personality, and because big freedoms are even better if they are along with big responsibilities.