Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children nowadays rely too much on the technology, such as computers, smartphones, and video games, for fun and entertainment; playing with simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s development.

Having a tendency to play games is a common behavior not only among human progeny but also among almost all creatures’ offspring; it is indisputably axiomatic that games play a significant role in children’s development. Nowadays, due to the advancements in technology, games have been gone through numerous changes, and a variety of new means have been invented for entertainment. Youngsters are becoming more interested in amusing themselves with such new technologies as computers, smartphones, and video games, instead of playing games in traditional ways. Some people believe that this may harm juniors, but others think otherwise; I subscribe to the former idea, and in my view, children should be encouraged to play with ordinary toys or have fun with their friends for several reasons.

To begin with, children usually have greater energy levels than adults, and they tend to expend their energy on playing games. In terms of health issues, students who spend hours of their precious time playing video games do not get much exercise; not only can this have detrimental impacts on their well-being, but their energy accumulates in their bodies without being consumed as well. Obesity and eyesight reduction are obvious examples of the harmful effects of playing games in this way. However, playing with rudimentary toys – namely a ball – gives rise to more physical exercise so that teenagers can use up their energy in a healthy manner. By doing so, they feel much more alive, maintain their health, and enjoy high-quality lives.

Moreover, a person’s imagination mainly develops through their childhood. Playing with regular toys may boost one’s imagination; for there are not any fixed frameworks for a child to follow, they can create innovative ways for amusing themselves. In my opinion, learning to be creative as a child is what brings about novelty and different viewpoints in their personality when grown up. Nevertheless, this is not the case with modern entertainment technologies, since, in all of them, there are some structures that a child needs to obey for making progress in a game. In other words, video games deter children from being ingenious during the game.

Last but not least, as Aristotle said, 'Man is a social animal.' Human beings tend to gain satisfaction by interacting with other people. One of the advantages of playing games in traditional ways is that toddlers learn to socialize with other people. They can make friends when playing outside, and by doing so, they learn plenty of new things from each other. These social abilities will benefit children in their future lives. Despite this, juniors who stay home and play video games alone may become anti-social which could cause serious problems in their lives.

To sum up, today, despite the fact that most of the children incline to amuse themselves with modern-day technologies, I believe that they should be stimulated to play with simpler toys or spend time playing outside with their friends because this is more beneficial for their health, social skills, as well as imagination. If we did not apply appropriate measures to address this issue, who knows what would happen to the quality of toddlers’ lives in the future?