Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Children should spend most of the time playing and studying, and they should not be required to do household chores, like cooking or cleaning.

Nowadays, education is becoming an indispensable part of the modern society. An issue comes along with is that whether children should be required to to do the household chores. Some people maintain that kids should focus more on their study rather than housework. A considerable number of opponents, however, argues that the importance of doing housework can never be ignored. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that doing housework is necessary for kids since it can benefit both kids and their family. Here, I list two reasons to aptly substantiate my viewpoints.

First and foremost, doing housework is a basic life skill which can help children to cultivate some good habits. Grasping some practical skills is of great importance to one's future. The most fundamental household duties may include washing clothes, cleaning the floor, setting the table, feeding the pet, cooking simple dishes, watering the garden and so on. All these duties are easy to perform but will bring about tremendous benefits to children. To a certain degree, engaging in household chores symbolizes the focal point for a child to take the initial responsibility.

Apart from that, the relationship between parents and children can also be promoted by doing household chores together. Nowadays, as children spend more and more time studying, they can hardly squeeze some time from study to communicate with their parents. However, doing housework together can help strengthen relationships and narrow the generation gap between parents and kids. It is in the process of making joint efforts that children are realizing the real value of happiness. They may learn to respect their parents' hard work in the future and try to become more helpful and considerate than before.

Admittedly, a minority of people tends to believe that children should not be required to do household chores, partly because it may take up the time which kids can use to study. Nevertheless, if children can arrange their schedule properly, the household chores will not take a lot of time from them.

In summary, doing housework is beneficial since it can help kids cultivate practical skills and promote the family harmony. Contemplating all aforementioned reasons, we can safely draw the conclusion that children should be required to do household chores in their spare time.