Some people like studying in small classes with fewer students (in which professors are able to remember every body’s name). Others like studying in big classes. Which one do you prefer? Use specific details and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, education is becoming an increasingly curial issue in the society. Parents are attaching more and more attention to it, in order to ensure their children receive the best education. An issue comes along with is that how large a class should be. Some people maintain that class should have a small size which fewer students. A considerable number of opponents, however, argues that a big class is more suitable. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that a small class is more beneficial to students. Here, I list two reasons to aptly substantiate my viewpoints.

First and foremost, a small class allows teachers to pay more attention to each individual which can improve the education quality. Teachers are normal people, they have limited time and effort. Thus if they have to teach more students in a class, they might not have enough time to spend on each student. A small class, on the contrary, allows teachers to hear the voice from each student and respond to their questions in time. As a result, students may learn more quickly than in a big class. A vivid example comes from my own experience. When I was in high school, I used to study in a big class. And I had little time to communicate with my teacher since he was too busy. Consequently, I had to spend a lot of time to read books if I did not understand a point in class. However, when I went to college with a smaller class, I can finish my question in the class since I can directly ask the professor to answer my question, which really saves me a lot of time. This example demonstrates how a small class can help improve the education quality.

Apart from that, a small class also enables that the student in the class can be at the same level. It is undeniable that different students have different background and ability. In a big class, since the number of the student is big, the ability of the student can varied significantly. As a result, some people might find the class is too easy, while others can hardly catch up with the class. In a small class, however, students are more likely to be at the same level or share a same interest, this allows the teacher to arrange the class more easily.

Admittedly, a minority of people tend to believe that the big class is more proper for educating, partly because that students can make acquaintance with more people which can help cultivate their social skill. Nevertheless, if we could notice that students do not have to only make friends with people from the same class, we will realize that this point does not make sense. This further proves my opinion.

In summary, a smaller size class can help improve the education quality and allows teacher to prepare for classes more easily. Contemplating all aforementioned reasons, we can safely draw the conclusion that a small class is more benefical to both students and teachers than a big class.