Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Companies should pay for employees to get a university degree.

One of the essential criteria of a good company is the knowledge of the employees. Controversy exists over whether employees should have paid for an academic study by their companies or not. In my vantage point, companies have to invest in other ways of workforce upgrade.

The first crucial point worth mentioning is that companies have to fund in-service training instead of academic education. Companies should pay attention to the academic degree they are considering during the hiring. After that, they should invest in their staff's practical experiences. In order to increase work efficiency, companies have to plan to develop practical skills because the most critical attribute of competent employees is their practical work experiences. Consider a company that requires a particular skill in one of their sections: if they pay for an employee who is working at the department to participate in a workshop, not only do employers take advantage of it, but also the employee profit from it. The worker achieves a higher level of experience; the company raises its workforce's knowledge and abilities without losing its staff and recruiting a new one.

Furthermore, paying employees for university degrees by companies leads to a decline in work efficacy significantly. Studying at university and having a full-time job at the same time is impossible if you expect to do both of them at a satisfying level. When workers are busy studying, their performance will gradually decrease because they cannot focus their minds on work duties, as they did. Even the companies that give a leave of absence to their employees have to substitute them for new staff, who should be trained. Hence, there is no economic justification for companies. For instance, imagine a travel agency that pays two of its personnel to get an academic education, so employers should teach new staff how to communicate professionally with their clients. Therefore, it gives rise to wasting time and money. In other words, it has a wide-ranging influence on companies.

All in all, there are many ways to improve the knowledge of employees. It is suggested that companies should concentrate on in-service training and endeavor to increase efficiency.