Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Educating young people about healthy food is important and should not be the job of families alone it should also be the responsibility of schools to teach their students about healthy eating

Nowadays, the fundamental importance of healthy eating makes itself a permanent topic, and recently people have even begun to ponder how to educate juveniles to eat healthily. When this question is discussed, a general controversy arises. Some people advocate that schools are responsible to educate schoolchildren about healthy diets since parents cannot manage the problem alone. As far as I am concerned, I definitely concur with this assertion, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, teachers can educate students about healthy eating more efficiently and thoroughly. With the assistance of educational facilities and diversified learning materials, such as slide shows and tactfully-designed videos, students are enabled to grasp a more comprehensive understanding of the underlying mechanisms of healthy eating. Besides, teachers who are equipped with professional knowledge and skills, such as biology and chemistry, are capable of illustrating the knowledge vividly and visualizing abstract concepts in an understandable way. Therefore, after possessing the basic knowledge about the potential disadvantages of some food, schoolchildren are more willing to accept teachers’ suggestions and reshape their eating habits. For example, my sister used to have a sweet tooth and eat a lot of candies and chocolate with high calories. Although my parents told her the serious outcomes, she still ignored their warnings. One day, her biology teacher introduced diabetes and obesity caused by too much intake of sugar in class, and meticulously demonstrate the cause and formation process. At that moment, she really realized the cruel consequences and stopped eating too much sugar every day.

In addition, in school, students are granted more chances to foster healthy eating habits with the guidance of teachers. Most schoolchildren have their lunches in schools, and it is a blessed opportunity for teachers to instruct their students. Since teachers are the authority in school, many students view them as role models and are glad to follow their instructions. Thus, during lunchtime, under the surveillance of teachers, children are prone to reduce the intake of unhealthy food and reshape their eating lifestyle. While at home, children may be spoiled by their parents and grandparents, causing serious chronic illnesses in the digestive system at a young age. It is investigated that under the guidance of teachers, it is more likely for children to cultivate some healthy eating habits and give up those detrimental ones. More than 60 percent of students believe teachers play a more critical role in fostering healthy habits than parents. The main reason for the conclusion is the strict rules set by their teachers and the effects of role modeling.

Admittedly, some people maintain that teachers should pay more attention to students' academic performance instead of their lives. And this proposal also imposes too much extra pressure and workload on teachers. However, it does not cost too much time and the merits outweigh the deficiencies. Besides, teachers can educate their students in accordance with their characteristics, facilitating the cultivation of conducive habits.

In a nutshell, it is advisable that schools take the responsibility to educate students on healthy eating. Every single day spent in school ought to be made full use of, and teachers and schools should play a critical role in assisting students to live healthier lives.