Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: the environmental problem is too complex and cannot be handled by individuals.

As modern society develops, people have a easier and more comfortable life than they did in the past. However, negative sides often comes with the progress. People have to deal with tons of environmental issues: water pollution, light pollution, reduction of available water and the like. The government and some associations encourage individuals to do something good for our mother nature. Some people, however, argue that individuals’ impact is so limited that they cannot handle the problem. As far as I am concerned, small efforts at individual level could go a long way in protecting environment.

First, individuals can protect the environment by raising the awareness of protecting the environment among youths. It is a really sad story that the majority of teenagers today do not even think about environment not to mention protecting it. Statistics released by China Daily, nearly 70 per cent of youth find it unfashionable to carry cloth bag to market. They prefer poly bags and never hesitate to throw plastics and garbage on the road. What a shame! Therefor, the fist thing people, individuals, can do something more for our environment is letting themselves know much about the environment, is spring up their urge to be eco-friendly.

Moreover, the ordinary can preserve the mother nature by reducing the use of technology devices. The addiction with these smart devices is absolutely a adversity for people, especially the youth. Diminishing the use of technology devices, laptops, smart phone, iPod and even cars, will not only reduce the electricity and petrol which is non-renewable resource of energy but also let the flower of the country, teenagers, get closer to the nature. If individuals can never hesitate to throw their technology devices at home or garage, they walk to work or school. It will be a whole new story. The traffic condition will be better; the limited resource of energy will be saved; the awareness of saving the environment will be lifted up. And the environment will become better and better.

Finally, individuals can protect the environment by take active part in campaigns, such as the Earth Day, to stress the government to do something for our beloved earth. For example, during the Earth Day 2006 in America, millions of individuals flocked into the road and raised the slogans”Trees are you. Do not cut them” , “Protect our crying mother earth” and so on, expressing their strong desire to protect the environment toward the government, politicians and businessmen. And after this great campaign, the government did plant 7.8 billion trees for earth and businessmen did produce more products which were recyclable and greener.

In a nutshell, there is no reason to draw the conclusion that the environmental problem is too complex and cannot be handled by individuals.