do you agree or disagree with the following statement? the government should support scientific researches even if they are not practical. use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

In today’s modern world, universities and research institutions have a very important part of developing society. For achieving this goal, research is one of the major responsibilities of these establishments. As we know, there are almost infinite areas for research, and there has always been a controversy among the people and authorities whether this is the governments’ duty to support every research in any aspect or not. As far as I am concerned, I believe that governments should only support those kinds of researches that are practical and can directly help the society and people. The reasons why I think so are manifold, but limited financial and human resources are the most significant ones, which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

Any country on the planet has a definite amount of financial resources and even rich countries do not have a limitless amount of money and facilities. With this in mind, I think spending those possibilities on unpractical researches should not be an option or at least a priority. There are more important areas which need money to thrive, and some of them are very important, for instance, eradicating illiteracy especially in faraway places, solving the problem of traffic which causes polluting the environment, providing new jobs for unemployed people, or even solving social problems to name but many. I think these problems are more important and have a direct effect on society and all the people who live in it. Some of them are maybe a matter of death or life. For example, some evidence shows that about twenty thousand people die in Tehran as a result of polluted air. As can be seen, reducing the amount of pollution should be the high priority of the authorities in Tehran.

Also, it is obvious that every country has a certain population, therefore there is a limited amount of human resources. If governments spend too much money on the unpractical issues, as a result, more students will tend to study those aspects. By so doing, a considerable amount of highly educated people will be studying on matters that do not have any uses not only for themselves but also for society. On the other hand, if governments invest in the practical sciences, inevitably students and scholars will become interested in them, and they will focus their researches on the issues that can make differences in the whole society.

In conclusion, I believe that governments have limited resources and they should put their total focus on issues that can be helpful for their country. In my opinion, it is not a wise thing to do that when there are real and urgent problems in a country, waste your money and energy on the issues that are not even practical.