Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that for the governments, spending more money in supporting arts is more valuable than supporting athletics. However, I would definitely be against such a statement. To me, supporting atheletics is much more benificial to the public for the following several reasons.

To begin with, I want to argue that arts will take much more money to have an achievement. Take myself as an example. When I was a kid, I tried both arts like drawing and athletics such as swimming and basketball. My family spent a lot of money on the painting materials, e.g., different sizes of papers, various colors of crayons, and distinct softness of brushes. In contrast, to afford me to play basketball, my family only needed to buy a cheap ball from the supermarket that appears everywhere in the city and find a basketball field, which is also quite common in the communities. Therefore, arts are much more costly than sports, so the government will spent much more on arts to get the same result.

Besides this, another reason for supporting athletics is that the majority of people can enjoy sports. For arts, only talented individuals such as experts can distinguish which kinds of paintings are more delicated and should receive more attention. It is hard for the public to enjoy the arts without enough knowledge about this field. At the same time, even a elementary school student can distinguish which runner is the fastest and which football player goals the most. Hence, sports can be enjoyed by most people and is therefore much more benificial.

At last, sponsering team sports like football and basketball can also encourage the youth to cooperate with each other. As long as such state-sponsered Olympic teams become popular in the television, they will also try such team sports. Such enrollment will make the students more socialized and is extremely benificial for them. However, most artists are typically along and hide them from the public. If students all try to isolate them with each other, it is bad for their personal developments and for their socialization progress.

Despite sponsering arts also have its own advantages such as keeping people away from violence which the sports may fail to, its disadvantage such as being too costly, making the public unable to enjoy, and making the youth isolated from each other too so great to be ignored. To conclude, among arts and athletics, I will definitely choose athletics to fund.