Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should make it possible for children to attend preschool early childhood education programs for example for three year old children at no costs for children s families Use reasons and

Preschool years is a crucial time period for children’s physical and mental development, and it may seem logical that government should provide financial support to ensure every children to attend preschool program. There is no doubt that establishing preschool programs will be a social welfare for both children and their family, but whether the practice is worthwhile compared with more needed things deserves to be further discussed, so I take a reserved attitude toward the claim.

Admittedly, the fund for supporting children for their preschool years help promote equity in education regardless of people’s background and social class. And some programs will have a long-term effect on their future. For example, when I was a 3-year-old child I took a educational camp during which I learned a lot of basic moral values through watching educational cartoons or playing games. These activities helped me build the sense of honesty and kindness. With these virtue deeply rooted in children’s mind, they will be less likely to be corrupted later in society and thus improving social harmony.

However, the argument are too optimistic that they ignore one important fact that government’s fund are limited and if they want to allocate more fund to pre-primary education, the money spent on other equally or more important areas may be cut. Take the college scientific research programs for example, devoting more money to pre-school program will have the risk decreasing the research fund. With less government support, the researchers may find it difficult to explore in a cutting-edge field and refuse to do further research. As a consequence, science and technology development would be greatly undermined.

Meanwhile, though there do exist some preschool programs that should be placed with top priority, most preschool programs are not so educational and important at all and they are just intended for taking care of children and having fun. Most of the preschool programs in my city are just watching TV shows, playing with lego blocks. It’s hard to say that these programs play such a significant role for children that require government support.

In a nutshell, the argument in the lecture is a little bit arbitrary and I maintain that government doesn’t need to spend more funds in support of arts instead of athletics.