Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People possess different perspectives on whether governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics. As for me, I strongly argue that the government should spend more money in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Accordingly, I provide three arguments.

First of all, I really need to save money because I am poor. If the government spends money on supporting athletics, the government will establish a lot of places for the athletes to practice and the places will be affordable. For example, in Taipei, the government spends a lot of money to build sports centers. There are a lot of sports courts in the sports center and people can enter the center to exercise with low-price tickets. To be more specific, if people want to work out in the sports center, they have to pay only 20 NT dollars, which is tenfold the price of a commercial private gym.

Secondly, I care about friends, and if the government spent money to support athletics, the TVs will play a lot of sports competitions for me and my friends to watch. That is to say when the government spends money on supporting athletics, there is more possible for athletes to attend international sports events that the TVs will definitely play and report. For example, when I was in high school, there were a lot of NBA games for me and my friends to watch together because Jeremy Lin, who comes from my country, played in the NBA at that time.

Last but not least, I am a person who cares about health. If the government spends money in support of athletics, people will be encouraged to do sports, and doing sports can keep people healthy. For example, if the government spends money on making advertisements to promote the advantages of sports, people will be aware of the importance of doing exercise. For instance, people can avoid diabetes by working out, and people can improve their heart by doing cardio.