Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many people think that government should spend money on the development of technology and internet access in particular. Although I understand their point of view, I have a different opinion. Personally, I believe that government should support public transportation financially.

First, the government should support the expanding of a public transportation system in The United States of America. One of the reason is that because of this expansion would improve people's lives and give them the freedom of everyday walking to places they intended to such as visit doctor offices, go to the markets or visit their families. A recent announcement in Houston newspaper about the construction of bullet train between Houston and Dalles, Texas. If the train's construction happened earlier, it would ease locals to finds jobs and commute to collages between these cities. Some people say that public transportation is slow, sometimes unsafe. Despite that, still public transportation convenient for many citizens. Because of this, it is necessary for the government to develop the public transportation networks and it's modes.

Second, the development of the facilities of the public transportation would reduce the carbon footprints. Because of the use of transient services such as metros, trollies and buses would reduce streets congestions. As a result, this would decrease the number of cars that cause carbon emission in the air. Also, it is critical to remember that the developing of public transportation modes would reduce the gasoline consumptions each year. If one household operated one car rather than two and switched to public transient services, it would save gasoline expenses around 9,000 dollars approximately per year. Although some people argue that even public transportation are harmful to the environment, many public transportation modes work on electric power such modes would cause less harm to the environment. Because of this, it is the best for the government to assist in the development of public transportation systems.

In conclusion, supporting public transportation facilities is necessary for many potential reasons.