Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Grades (marks) encourage students to learn.

From an general standpoint, youth's cultivation and discipline plays a significant role in the prosperity of the future of society and country. In this vein, the best fashion of highly educating pupils has been among the most controversial subjects often provokes many discussions. Some people keep endorsing the claim that assigning a grade for students motivate them to learn better whereas others dismiss this idea. It is my firm conviction that its better to set a grade for pupils. In what follows, I aptly elucidate what rationale my perspective is based on.

To commerce, assigning a grade for the exams or assignments is virtually the only way to induce students to study the taught material. To put in a vivid picture, students will not put aside time and energy to comprehend the lessons, especially the ones that are less appealing and easy to their eyes, in depth unless they would be evaluated. My own experience is a compelling example of this notion. When I was a high school student, one of our teachers neither took any exam from the taught material and nor assigned a grade for our assignments. Consequently, we did not study for that specific lesson and ignored it totally which led to not learn anything or even remember slight things about that subject. Had my teacher inflicted us to study by setting a grade for our projects and exams, I would have a comprehensive knowledge of that subject.

The second pivotal reason that bears in mind is that grades foster vital personal traits in pupils such as the sense of self-confidence as well as driving the sense of responsibility.

In other words, since the grade brings about a competitive atmosphere owing to the fact that the pupils will be compared with each other, it contributes to tempt them to try to stand at the crest of the class grade and become the top student in order to be praised. Therefore, they will get acquaintance to the sense of self-confidence and put efforts to raise it. Referring to my own experience, my history teacher had assigned some projects and allocated the majority of the final point to them and sought for the straight-A student. Since it was important for us to be applauded by the highest grade, we all strived industriously to submit the most developed project and became confident about our skills. If the teacher had not assigned this stimulus and applauded us, I had not worked on self-confidence sense and been confident about my skills.

To put in a nutshell, teachers can foster more prosperous students by getting them grads. This is because not only they will be forced to study the material taught in the class, but also do it enhance personal facets of their character.