Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Graduating students require to take a public speaking course”

use your specific reasons and explain it why?

Many students have gone to college and learned many things in their favorite areas. They have put a lot of effort into improving the skills to be better. However, one of the most difficult for the most student is communication skills. In my point of view, I think students should take a people interaction course for some benefits which are explained in this essay.

Firstly, talking in public with the audience surely improve our communication skills. The main problem for many graduating students is too much knowledge of them. Although they would understand the lessons thoroughly, they could not express what they are talking to other people who are not in the same area of their study. They have always used the technical terms for an explanation so it is difficult to understand. For example, I have a ton of computer engineering’s friends but there are only a few of them that could explain how to read the text in the program or how to create the code. This is miserable, it’s better to learn some from the experts because it’s faster. One way of improving communication skills is to talk as much as possible. Setting requirement on the speaking course would regulate and bring about the students focus on the improvement of their communication skills due to the fact that they logically care their grade for graduation.

Secondly, students would get opportunities to share their aspect and to get ideas from other people. For instance, there is a forum which is held every year at my university. This is an event that the students could show their yearly projects to other people who are interested in. This is not only providing an opportunity to let the students involve in communication but also to let them know more other aspects in their field or other fields of study. I had some of the ideas of my thesis through this event, it’s from my senior last two years and I had continued that to further and more significant. And again, I had shared it through this event and hoping that someone wants to continue my work to the more significant stage.

Finally, we know that if we used or speaking a lot in public, we could be more confident and better in communication. In the same way, we could apply this method to overcome other types of fear, we would face it and become used to it. Likewise, if loneliness is your fear then you try to be alone and eventually, you would be familiar with it and brave to be alone.

To summarize, the public interactive course with other people is crucial for students’ communication improvement and I think it should be set as a graduation requirement for students because the course could be such advantages for students in case of communication improvement, chances to interact with other people and how they overcome their fear.