Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of affording university professors with high salaries. Personally, I believe that if the university increases the salaries of professors, the quality of education would improve to high level. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will endeavor to expound upon in the following essay.

To begin with, money is a really big incentive to keep professors focused on their tasks, such as researching and teaching. In this materialistic and modern world, professors must do additional jobs after teaching to meet their families’ demands. By paying professors high payments, the university would prevent them from these obstacles. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my uncle’s experience. About two years ago, he worked as a teacher in small town university, so my uncle had faced some finance problems. That is why he could not concentrate on the teaching of the students. The university director decided to increase salaries to finish this crisis, so my uncle overcame this difficulty. Additionally, having motivated by this advantage, he started to give free courses to students and improved his teaching. As a result, if the university did not enhance the payment of professors, my uncle would work on additional job to solve budget problems.

Secondly, offering handsome salary attracts other prominent professors to join that university. We know in the job market the best company can recruit the most prominent employees is the one who offers the highest paycheck. Similarly, if the universities want to motivate renowned employees, they must provide free accommodation, free transport facilities, flexible working hours, and high salaries. For example, a recent study conducted at Stanford University searched for top hundred universities and their successes. The experiment suggests that most of the universities provide their professors with some opportunities to entice other well-known teachers, so these universities pass the other ones on ranking. Additionally, university would enlarge university tuition because of its popularity, so it would increase the budget of university. Therefore, if the universities pay high to the professors, it would affect well-known professors to come here and start teaching.

Taking everything mentioned into account, I firmly conclude that universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. This is because professors would be more focused on their teachings and the university would increase its budget by attracting popular professors