Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In every country, universities are thought of as one of the most influential bodies in the society as they shape the future leaders and provide the education that can have major impacts on the country’s future. Needless to say, the professors and lecturers have the biggest role in these academic centers. In this regard, there is a controversy concerning the salary of these key players. Though many think that professors are already paid an adequate amount for their work, I have to disagree, positing that I believe they should be entitled to higher wages for their influential roles in the society. In the paragraphs below, I will provide some reasons that will substantiate my viewpoint.

It goes without doubt that the professors determine the direction of the future of academics in a country. To this regard, if these professors feel they are underpaid for the hard, significant work they do, they will lose their inclination to thrive in the sciences. This sense of dissatisfaction will decline their motives to create new research ideas and social proposals, thus decreasing their proficiency. It is evident what a catastrophic effect this lost tendency will have for a country’s future. An excellent example to this I believe can be the current academic status of my country, Iran. Many professors feel their salaries are not in accordance with their high education, influential social status and work. Thus, they have lost their interest in research and are inclined to pursue off-campus jobs which will have better revenues for them. So it is evident that an increase in salary will result in more motivated and better working professors, consequently insuring the future of a country.

Another point worth mentioning in this regard is that many professors can freely fund research studies out of their own salary and provide a more practical environment for their students is they are paid more generously. A simple stroll through history will prove that there have always been many key research projects that have failed to over win committees in charge of funding. Many of these studies have been able to carry on because the professor in charge was able to pay for the prerequisites of the research team from his/her own salary. To this regard, I believe higher salaries will result in a wide spectrum of studies done freely by professors which can in turn have major academic and social impacts.

Although, it should be mentioned that a balance should be maintained between how a university allocates its money. If a higher pay check for professors will result in less mandatory utilities, laboratory equipment, computers, science and sports tournament and other necessary requirements for the university, it can have adverse impacts.

In general, it can be stated that satisfied professors will lead more sophisticated research studies, which will raise the social and academic status of a country. Although keeping a balance between various parts of university in need of money is crucial, I believe rewarding professors with higher salaries will encourage them to thrive and open doors to astounding scientific discoveries.