TPO-41: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the modern days of evolving technologies and overwhelming information, education, especially the lower levels of education thought in schools, has lost its true value and position in the society. An evidence for that, as some imply, is the lack of appreciation and social class that the teachers are faced with today. Although some people disagree with this assumption, I also think teachers have lost much of their respect and social status in today’s societies in comparison with the past. Some of the reasons corroborating this point are elaborated as follows.

With the growing amount of information and the easy access to the data one seeks for through the internet, some might even question the necessity of school and education. In the past, knowledge was restricted to a small portion of the society, the elite. Therefore, it was thought of as a valuable position, and teachers were viewed as the means to this cherished jewel. Many children had grown up reading about stories of poor children who dreamed of going to school, stirring up their own desire for knowledge. Or stories of influential teachers who had turned a poor country girl to a great writer, thus underscoring the teachers’ role in their minds. But with the spread of knowledge through all parts of the society and the universal access to the internet, knowledge is no longer a sought-after desire, but merely just a couple of clicks away. This, in turn, has led the dropped respect children once had for their teachers, since they are no longer the only means to their desires.

Another factor resulting to this decreased sense of appreciation in teachers might be the low salaries they are faced with each in return for their critical role in the society. The role of a teacher in a society is one of considerable importance, as they are the ones shaping and training the future leader, artists, doctors, engineers and businessmen of the world. When teachers feel that they are being underpaid for the hours of hard, vital work they are doing, they might show this sense of dissatisfaction in the classroom, thus lower the performance of the children. If their salaries were more in accord with they’re vital role in the society, they would also feel more appreciated and motivated to teach with all they’re vigor. This motivation will be evident by the children, leading to higher sense of respect and gratitude for their hard working teacher.

In general, I believe the role of our teachers has been undermined due to the rise in technologies and accessible information. If we do not come up with novel ways to improve a teacher’s status in the society, we might face severe consequences in the future, as teachers are shaping our next generation.