Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement raises the controversial issue of whether teachers were more respected in the past times than the present time.

If I were asked, I would definitely argue that todays teachers appriciated more.

To begin with, in the past teachers were frequently been treated as holders of lesser respectable jobs. Their worth were not understood by people as their salary were pretty much in the lower scales. And the salary range actually represents the position of a certain class in the society. But, currently, the teaching profession is given more importance than most of the other jobs as their payment is in the apex portion of salary scale. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, my grandfather was a college teacher in his earlier age, when he had hardtime feeding his family. So he had to leave the profession and join the army. But, my brother, on the other hand, has left his previous well-paid job, to work as a school teacher which is paying much more. As a result, he is now having a better and respectable life. For this reason, I think nowadays, society is valuing teachers more.

Secondly, teachers from past decades were somewhat like grumpy and reserved. They thought of themselves as the separate section of people who should always have a distant relationship with their students. But, teachers from present times are actually the total reverse of that. They tend to get close to their students and that's how they gain more apprecaition from them. Drawing from my own experience, I had a tacher who was very friendly with all of hsi students. Pupils loved him more than any of the other teachers. Moreover, he got praise from the guardians of the students too. It would have been quite an impossible scenario for the past teachers. It is certainly clear to see why todays teachers are more valued and appreciated.

In light of the above-mentioned reasons, I feel that present day teachers enjoy much more value and praise than the past teachers.

As long as some measurements are performed and some areas are involved, it is my firm belief that my argument will hold true.