Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Along with the inflation of the economy, since the growth of salary cannot catch up with the inflation, more and more people started complaining that their salaries are not enough to cover basic living expenses, including professors too. This phenomenon can seriously affect the quality of education. Therefore, I agree with the statement that universities should spend more money on salaries for professors, for the following reasons.

To begin with, increasing salaries for university professors can allow professors to put more efforts on educating students. Since they have enough income, they do not need to do additional jobs, such as endorsing commercial teaching materials or being teachers in cram schools, to increase their income. For example, in Taiwan, there are a lot of professors complaining that they do not receive salaries that they supposed to earn, which make them have to do many works, like proposing projects to earn government's subsidies or becoming experts in advertisements etc., to make sure that they have reasonable incomes. Though they do not do anything wrong, it actually lower the teaching quality in universities.

Moreover, raising salaries for professors can attract more talented and ingenious elites to work in educational industry. Since the average salary for professors increase, it makes teaching positions more competitive when elites are choosing their careers. For instance, I remember when I used to work as a research assistant in National Taiwan Normal University, I often heard my boss, who is the leader of the computer science department, said that it was really hard to recruit new professors today. Because most people who have computer science background prefer to work in the private firms than work as a professor. Thus, increasing salary for professors can make the position seem more attractive.

Although some people may say that it is better to increase research budget than increase the salaries for professors, since more professors are complaining about their budgets for conducting researches. However, if there is no compelling salary, how can we expect that there will be more potential people willing to become scholars, right?

To conclude, I firmly believe that professors deserve better salaries, since they are playing an important role in developing young generations. If nobody want to do that, then a country will for sure start decaying.