Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When people talk about how to develop a successful country, I would always heard two opposite voices. On one hand, some people claim that investment on education of young can bring more benefits. On the other hand, some may argue that students in universities are the one can maximum the return of investment. For me, I believe that it is more important for a government to spend money on universities.

To begin with, it is true that education for young children plays an important role for the development of a country, since a good early education can help them build a solid foundation of general knowledge. For example, developed countries. If we do a little research on the difference between developed countries and third world countries, we would notice that the main difference between them is the prevalence of early education. Though early education is not as professional as high level education, it plays a decisive factor that decide a country's living environment. With countries that are lack of basic knowledge of environmental protection, their people would usually have shorter longevity, since they do not know that the environment is important for their health.

However, high level education is much more important than primary education, because highly educated people can become the teachers that teach correct knowledge to young children, and even adults. In Taiwan, for instance, a teacher has to at least finish bachelor degree to be qualified for attending exam of teaching certificate. If a government is willing to spend money on universities, those students who study in education department can have more resources to improve their teaching skills. In this way, young children can also be benefited.

Moreover, if universities receive more financial support from the government, I believe that the quality and the quantity of their research output would also improve, since they have more budget to purchase latest equipments and analyzing software. Let's talk about my personal experience, my university ranked the middle rank in Taiwan. So it does not really receive a lot of subsidies from the government. As a result, when I was taking statistic class, I had to borrow account from my friend whom studied in the university that provides latest version of SPSS software. With the latest version of SPSS, it included much more functions than the one my school had. Thus, analyzing data became much more efficient.

In conclusion, although funding primary education is important, if universities can receive more resource, I believe it will eventually benefit young children too.