Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education, the foundation of the prosperity of a country, has triggered heated discussions on whether it is more important to spend money on the education of young children than on college students. Universities, in some people's view, should receive more fundings from the government. On the contrary, my perspective is that more money should be spent on teenagers for the following reasons.

To begin with, due to the large number of young children, education on them contributes more to the successful development of a country. Specifically, never should we ignore that most children will enter elementary schools but not many people choose to enter colleges. Therefore, money spent on primary schools will benefit more citizens in this country, especially in some economically less developed areas. With enough funding, children from destitute families will be more likely to get scholarships and enter schools. As a result, most teenagers in this country will have access to fundamental education regardless of their financial backgrounds. This will, undoubtedly, improve the average education of the whole country, and thus benefit society. However, giving money to the universities will only benefit few people compared with funding the primary schools, which will have less effect on the development of the whole country.

In addition, spending money on young children is more effective than on universities, because kids have more potential than adults. It is well acknowledged that kids can be shaped to become different kinds of genius and thus have more possibilities than adults. To be more specific, by receiving appropriate guidance and education, some of them are probable to become experts in specific fields when they grow up. Obviously, these people will definitely contribute more than normal individuals to the prosperity of the country. Investing in the kids’ education will get more rewards than allocating money to universities.

Besides, in order to nurture these kids, more money should be distributed to training and hiring experienced teachers in primary schools. Young children, compared with adults, are not mature enough and don't know the significance of the study. Experienced teachers are supposed to apply suitable pedagogical methods to each student so as to improve their personal development. For instance, teachers should make the class more interesting, or engage children in class discussion and presentation, which motivates kids to get actively involved and learn better. In contrast, the students in the university are mature enough and are more willing to study by themselves. As a result, the teachers in universities need to spend less effort on teaching, decreasing the requirement of training and hiring teachers.

In conclusion, the money should be spent more on the education of young children because of the large number of students, the potential of young kids, and more requirement for teaching kids.