Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For the successful development of a country, it is more important for a government to spend money on the education of very young children (five to ten years old) than to spend money on universities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is an increasing debate on how a government should spend money on the education. Some people claim that the money should be spent on young children while others are against this idea and suggest that a government should spend money on universities. In my opinion, I support the later argument and I will develop the explanations in the following paragraphs.

First of all, university students can make direct contribution to a country in few years. After students graduate from university, they usually find jobs and make real efforts to the society. These young people working in a variety of industries to develop a country and contribute to the gross domestic products for a country. Even though some students do not go to industries and choose further studies to become doctors, their research results are making the country more developed and more advanced. Moreover, some of them become professors to educate our next generations. It is obviously that these young people can promptly develop a country. For example, my brother who was a senior student in university. He received scholarships from a university and then decided to pursue further studies in chemical. His research was a breakthrough in a chemical field and thus benefited many chemistry companies. For this reason, I firmly believe that it is more important for a government to spend money on universities.

In addition, the expenses in university are usually costly. To hire good professor and researchers takes tons of money. In order to provide better education qualities, universities have to pay high compensations to attract outstanding scholars from overseas. Drawing from my experience, my university hired a famous professor in the finance field last semester. I was really impressed by her deep knowledges and detailed lectures. I really hope that my university can hire more lecturers like this professor but it is not possible for my university as it costs much. If a government can support universities, students from universities can have a high quality of education and students can contribute to a country after their graduation. As a result, I think a government should spend money on universities.

In lights of the reasons above, I strongly reckon spending money on universities is more important than spending money on young children.