Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Along with growth of economy, the living conditions today are way better than our grandparents' generation. However, having better living conditions does not mean that life today is easier and more comfortable, since people now have different challenges. Therefore, I do not agree that life today is easier that our grandparents, for the following reasons.

To begin, I believe that people today has different types of challenges, such as adapting in fast pace of life and highly competitive environment, that may had not existed when our grandparents were children. Because when they were children, technology was not fully developed yet. Hence, most of populations were working in agricultural industry, and therefore the life was not as competitive as today. However, children today have to start experiencing competition since they are in kindergarten. For example, in Taiwan, a lot of parents today want their children to be competitive in the future, so they would look for the best education for their kids. And to get in to the well-known kindergarten, those kids have to take intelligence tests to decide whether they are qualified to study in the famous kindergarten. Thus, they start living under pressure since they are three or four years old.

Besides having competitive life, people today have to worry about their living expense as well. The side effect of economic growth is inflation, which affects the expense that are related to our daily life. For example, during the past fifteen years in Taiwan, not only the economy but also house rent grows. It may sound reasonable, however the extent of these two growths are not comparable. The basic salary of general employees increase around five thousand NTD in past fifteen years, yet the rent for house increase more than two hundred percent. Which leads to most of labors who want to work in the big cites to suffer from deplorable living conditions. Since usually the rent for a private room is almost as much as their salaries, making some to choose illegally constructed houses. Therefore, the living difficulty is actually more than before.

In conclusion, despite the overall wealth in our grandparents’ generation was lower than today, if we consider the mental and material aspects of challenges that most adults and children encounter today. The life today is not as easy as some people think, rather, maybe it is much harder than before.