Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we think of a successful leader, what is the first concept that come to our mind? I believe most people will answer good personality, since we usually think that leadership comes naturally. However, I do not agree that leadership cannot be learned, since I believe that leadership consisted by many skills instead of just personality.

To begin with, it is true that a lot of great leaders throughout human history have strong personality. Some of them might be able to make people feel intimidated without doing anything, and others might make people feel safe so that people can count on them. For example, the founding father of Taiwan, Sun Yat-sen. He was the person that organized a lot of people to rebel the emperor of Chin Dynasty. Since he did not have any resources like weapon or money to organize the whole revolution, how could he become our founding father? I think the answer is very simple, personality. Because of the corrupted government, people in early 20th century in China had really bad living condition, lots of people died in starvation. But this man, his appearance gave those people hope, since they thought that they could rely on him. As a result, those people helped him subside the Chin Dynasty.

However, lacking special personality does not necessarily mean that we cannot become a successful leader, since becoming a good leader requires more skills instead of only personality. So we still can acquire leadership through training and learning. Let's take Sun Yat-sen as example. The reason that he could successfully subside Chin Dynasty was mainly because he also had a good speaking skill, that skill made people who passed by his speech be willing to hear what he was saying. Moreover, he also had to have clear thought to organize the whole mission. If he was just a disordered man, then I believe no matter how hard he tried, he would never achieve his goal- building a republic nation. And all of these skills, we can acquire from learning and training.

In conclusion, despite innate quality can help us become a good leader, without postnatal learning and practicing, no one can become a successful leader.