Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news sources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we think of the term well-informed, the first thought that most of people come up is getting information from different sources. However, if we receive too much information from different news sources, we may lose the main point of the information. Thus, I do not agree with the statement that a person must get information from many different news sources to be well-informed.

To begin with, it is reasonable that people connect well-informed and different news sources together. Since one of important element for us to be well-informed is to understand one event comprehensively, and getting information from diverse sources allows us to eliminate bias. The political news in Taiwan is a good example. A lot of people know that Taiwan is suffering from COVID-19 pandemic now, so there are different medias that report how COVID-19 started in different points of view, which help readers build the actual appearance of the incident. However, since different medias are in favor of different parties. Some blame the outbreak to local governments, other blame it to the central government, and eventually lost the focus of the incident.

Nevertheless, understanding an incident by using few sources of information could make us avoid this problem, but still be well-informed. This is because a lot of news sources, such as blog posts and social media, are not qualified, and therefore their news may not be accurate. Yet getting information from few but high quality of sources could let us have better understanding of an incident. For instance, focusing on few but impartial sources can help us focus on the omission that caused the outbreak. Since we would not be easily distracted by the position of different medias, and also we all know that medias like to use emotional words as the news titles, such as "mayor mocks the policy from central government" etc., to gain more attentions. Thus, overly exposed on different emotional title may affect the way we think, though we try to be unbiased.

In conclusion, despite collecting information from many different sources is a good way to be well-informed, using few but qualified sources may be more effective for us to be well-informed.