Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Along with the development of the economy, people today have better living conditions than before. Thus, more and more people are willing to spend more time on the activity that they like, such as playing video games, to gain happiness. Although some people think spending too much time on personal enjoyment could bring several issues, I do not agree that people today spend too much time doing things they like to do. Instead, I believe people should spend more time on their enjoyment, for the following reason.

First of all, spending time on one's enjoyment could help people maintain their mental health. People today are experiencing explosive growth of the economy, though it brings us better living conditions, what entails it is more stress. Hence, finding ways to relieve our stress is getting important for us, and the easiest and best way to do is to spend time doing things that bring us enjoyment. For example, when I have an extremely busy day at work, the only thing I want to do is playing video games. It could help me temporarily forget all the stress I had from work, so I would not feel overwhelmed the next day. And I can have better performance for my job.

Furthermore, personal enjoyment can also be productive. When a person is doing the thing that he or she likes to do, usually they would have higher efficiency than people who are not. Because when people are spending time on their enjoyment, usually they would feel stronger motivation to do it. And if they can produce dopamine while they are doing the things they like, it is not surprising that they would start pursuing better performance. For instance, when I was doing a part-time job in the exhibition center, I realized that I did not like the job that I was doing. Because I did not like my job, I had poor performance in that position and soon I was fired by the employer. However, after that I found another part-time position that I like, I had a completely different working performance. In the end, the employer even wanted me to keep working for him. Therefore, whether a person is doing the thing he or she likes is closely related to his or her performance.

In conclusion, despite some people have the idea that connects personal enjoyment to unproductivity, for me, however, spending time on personal enjoyment is more like charging ourselves for future challenges. Thus, I do not think that people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, rather, I believe people should spend time for their enjoyment so they can be more productive on the thing that they should do.