Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs to gain a larger audience share in its listening area. Because of the radio station WCQP's success in adopting call-in programs, and a nationwide survey indicates that many radio listeners are interested in such programs. However, there are several unanswered questions that make the claim implausible as it stands.

First of all, the manager argues that since the radio station WCQP increased the number of call-in advice programs two years ago, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Notwithstanding, was the increase of call-in advice programs the reason that increased WCQP's audience share? There are a lot of factors that decide whether a radio station's audience share would increase. Such as content of the radio shows, the time of radio shows, and the audiences' preference. If the topic of a radio show can not promote audiences' interests, even the radio implements call-in program cannot really catch audiences' attention.

Secondly, the manager cites a nationwide survey that many radio listeners are quite interested in such program to support his or her claim. However, readers may want to know how many people participated the survey? Sample size is really important for validity of any survey, if sample size of the survey was too small, it might not be able to represent the nationwide listeners's interest. For example, if the country has a hundred millions population, and the survey only investigate a thousand people's opinion about call-in program, the survey's result may have little value for people to reference. Thus, to cite this survey, the manager should also let readers know the reliability of the survey.

Finally, the manager of KICK in Medway states that due to the two reasons mentioned above, KICK should include more call-in advice programs to gain a larger audience share of its listening area. Still, the audience's preference in Rockville may be completely different from the audience in Medway. It is possible that the audience in Medway prefers to listen to music from radio than listen to people talking. And in this case, adopting a call-in advice program to increase audience share may not be as effective as the manager expects.

To make the claim as convincing as it stands, the manager should answered the questions mentioned above.